Info :   About    |    Background     |   Organisation

This competition continues the tradition of competitions held between observatories from the 19th century to the second half of the 20th century. It leverages science, technology and culture to highlight the skills of watchmakers, artisans and industrialists in their quest for perfection, and aims to support chronometry in contemporary mechanical horology by enabling watchmakers to compare the performance levels obtained by their timepieces. Unlike the original competitions, however, these modern events aim to compare the performance and reliability of encased watches intended for market distribution.

The Honorary Committee responsible for the 2015 International Chronometry Competition will be chaired by Mr Claude Nicollier (astronaut, NASA, Professor at EPFL Federal Polytechnic in Lausanne). In order to guarantee the scientific and legal validity of competition results, no Jury members have professional ties in the industry. The Jury will be chaired by Mr Jean-Marc Triscone, Dean of the Faculty of Science at the University of Geneva. Mr Laurent-Guy Bernier (METAS) will act as technical commissioner, as well as sitting on the Jury.

The 2015 International Chronometry Competition will be organised in partnership with the Swiss Chronometry Inspectorate (COSC), Besançon Observatory (France), Arc Advanced Engineering college in Le Locle (HE-Arc) and the Swiss Chronometry Society (SSC). The competition is supported by the Republic, Canton of Neuchâtel, and the municipal authorities of Le Locle and the greater Besançon area.

Gold Sponsors

dixi logo

Incabloc logo

Precisionm Engineering logo

Silver Sponsors

Metalem logo

Robert Laminage logo

Bronze Sponsors

With the support of

le locle logo logo

logo Grand Besanon

logo Saint-Imier